Aboitiz, EDC power plants undergo maintenance

by Alena Mae S. Flores – August 22, 2016 at 11:10 pm

from Manila Standard Today

Aboitiz Power Corp. subsidiary Therma South Inc. said a 150-megawatt unit of the 300-MW Davao baseload power plant will undergo a 17-day maintenance outage starting Aug. 22 for preventive maintenance.

“This maintenance activity is necessary to review unit 1 and to implement some corrective measures as needed which should be similar in nature to the coverage of work done in the recently planned outage of unit 2 from June 18 to July 13,” said Therma South president and chief operating offer Sebastian Lacson.

The maintenance activity started Aug. 21 and is expected to last until Sept. 7.

“We are confident that after this outage, TSI should be better equipped to reliably meet the needs of our customers. As always, we will try our best to keep the duration of this interruption to a minimum,” Lacson said.

Meanwhile, Energy Development Corp. said the 77-megawatt unit 2 of Malitbog power plant experienced a “flashover” inside the high voltage terminal box last week, which caused the plant to trip.

“On Aug. 17, 2016, the 77-MW Malitbog unit 2 power plant experienced a flashover inside the high voltage terminal box, which caused Malitbog unit 2 to trip at around 5 p.m. on that day,” EDC said in a disclosure to the stock exchange.

EDC said that at the time of the incident, Malitbog unit 2 was offline and was in the process of testing and commissioning of its automatic voltage regulator under the supervision of ABB, the manufacturer of tAVR, as a part of a 30-day scheduled maintenance outage.

“The incident did not have any impact on the grid as Malitbog unit 2 was not synchronized to the grid at that time, and no injuries were sustained by any of the personnel involved,” the company said.

Malitbog power plant is a part of the Unified Leyte geothermal power plants, which are wholly-owned by EDC.

The Unified Leyte geothermal power plant complex consists of 232-MW Malitbog power plant, 125-MW Upper Mahiao, 180-MW Mahanagdong power plants and the 51-MW optimization plants.